Blog   |   E-Newsletter   |   Donate
News & Press: Press Releases

18 SC professional & civic leaders named to EPFP

Thursday, September 22, 2011   (0 Comments)
Share |

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Cassie Barber, Program Coordinator, S.C. Education Policy Fellowship Program
(803) 777-7658


18 South Carolina professional and civic leaders named to prestigious education policy program

COLUMBIA, SC – Eighteen (18) professional and civic leaders from across South Carolina have been selected to participate in the South Carolina Education Policy Fellowship Program for 2011-12.

SC-EPFP is a 10-month intensive professional development program for established and emerging leaders in education and related fields, and is designed to help equip them in working toward sound education policy and practice in South Carolina. The program features a variety of activities designed to promote leadership, develop professional networks, demystify education policy, and foster a greater understanding of the roles of government and the community in creating and implementing sound and policy and practice.

The 18 SC-EPFP Fellows for 2011-12 are:

  • Virginia K. Catoe, Principal
    Doby's Mill Elementary School, Kershaw County School District, Camden
  • S. Megan Che, Associate Professor
    Eugene T. Moore School of Education, Clemson University
  • Col. Craig J. Currey, Deputy Commander
    U.S. Army Training Center, Fort Jackson
  • Anita M. Garrett, CEO
    The Weathers Group, Columbia
  • Jerry N. Govan, Jr., State Representative, District 95, Orangeburg
  • Robert C. Grant, Jr., Principal
    Jesse Boyd Elementary School, Spartanburg School District 7, Spartanburg
  • Beth A. Howard, Program Associate
    Improving School Performance, SEDL, Orangeburg
  • Laura W. Howard, 2010-11 Charter School Teacher of the Year
    S.C. Virtual Charter School, S.C. Public Charter School District, Columbia/Florence
  • Tom F. Hudson, Associate Director/Clinical Instructor
    S.C. School Improvement Council, College of Education, University of South Carolina
  • William Derek Lewis, Executive Director
    Greenville County First Steps, Greenville
  • Scott J. Mercer, Superintendent
    Spartanburg School District Two, Boiling Springs
  • Ashlye V. Rumph-Geddis, Educational Consultant/Owner
    Learning Adventures. Inc., Columbia
  • Dominique Simpson Milton, Vice President of Emerging Markets
    A10 Clinical Solutions, Inc., Cary, NC
  • Patti J. Tate, 2012 South Carolina Teacher of the Year
    Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention and Advancement, Winthrop University
  • Roderic F. Taylor, Principal
    Dutch Fork Middle School, Lexington-Richland School District 5, Irmo
  • James M. Thompson, Assistant Principal
    Hand Middle School, Richland School District 1, Columbia, SC
  • Karen B. Williams, Title I Compliance Monitor, Charleston County School District, Charleston
  • Blair H. Zeimetz, PTA President
    Blythe Academy of Languages, Greenville County Schools, Greenville

"Successfully educating our children is essential to the economic health of our state,” said Robert E. Barnett, Associate VP for Workforce, Education and Manufacturing Policy with the S.C. Chamber of Commerce and SC-EPFP Advisory Board Chair.

"This year's Fellows are some of South Carolina's most committed and talented leaders,” Barnett said. "We are very pleased to bring them together to learn new skills, develop new insights, and work collaboratively to take action in improving our state's future through education improvement and reform.”

Fellows will meet monthly throughout the academic year for full-day dialogues, exercises and group projects, in addition to an overnight Fall Leadership Forum and a four-day Washington Policy Seminar hosted by the Institute for Educational Leadership. The SC-EPFP operates under the auspices of the national Education Policy Fellowship Program of the Institute for Educational Leadership in Washington, D.C., which oversees Fellowship programs in 11 states and the District of Columbia. The South Carolina program is coordinated by the S.C. School Improvement Council, located in the University of South Carolina's College of Education, with the assistance of the S.C. Department of Education's Office of Leader Effectiveness.

SC-EPFP is supported by an advisory board providing cross-disciplinary leadership representing the state's K-12 education, higher education, and business communities.

For additional information on the S.C. Education Policy Fellowship Program, visit the SC-EPFP page online at


Contact Us at 4301 Connecticut Ave, NW, Suite 100 | Washington, DC 20008 | 202-822-8405 |

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal